Appetizers · Gluten-free · Recipes · Snacks

Pico de Gallo with Guacamole and Corn Chips

Chips with salsa and guacamole have always been a popular snack around my place, especially when we were 5 roommates, one of whom being a vegan (that would be me!) and another being gluten-free.  Now I tick both those boxes so I love this snack even more!

Pico de Gallo is a heavenly fresh salsa.  You can always count on finding it near the beach in Mexico.

I adapted this recipe from a note tacked onto my family’s fridge by a family friend so its a mystery where it came from… All I know is that it is always a crowd-pleaser!

Pico de Gallo Fresca

20170207_120237

This recipes makes about enough for 4 people to snack on.

2 tomatoes

1/2 a cucumber

1/2 jalapeño pepper (seeds optional)

1/4 large onion – I used white

2 tbsp lemon juice

salt and pepper

1/2 a bunch of cilantro (optional)

Step One: Dice everything up and toss it in a bowl.  It should be much chunkier than salsa you would get in a jar but still manageable to scoop onto your corn chips.

* I used the green part of the jalapeño and skipped the seeds so as to make a MILD pico de gallo, but if you want it hotter add some seeds.  The more you add the hotter it would be so I suggest starting with only a few and adding to taste.

*Cilantro is one of those things that people either love or really don’t love. I didn’t add any as I was making this for a potluck and didn’t want to offend anyone however if it were just myself I would add a ton of the stuff.

Step Two: Add the lemon juice, salt and pepper.  Adjust to your taste. Taste testing is the best way to accomplish two things at once; justify eating your food before its done and tweaking the flavours to be just right. Practice makes perfect in cultivating this skill so munch on!

*You could totally substitute lime juice if you don’t have lemon or just really love limes.

Step Three: Serve with corn chips and guacamole (recipe below) and Enjoy your party (yes its still a party if its just you, snacks and Netflix, trust me).

Guacamole is easier than you think!

20170207_120246

This guacamole makes enough for 4 people as a side to the pico de gallo or 2 if you’re skipping the pico.

2 avocados

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 cloves garlic, pressed

1 tsp salt

pepper (optional)

My roommates used to always be very impressed that I made guacamole from scratch.  Secret is, guacamole is pretty much the easiest thing you could ever make! The only truly required ingredient is the avocado.  All the rest is gravy on top!

Step One: Mash up the avocados into a bowl. (I recommend using a whisk or a fork, but anything will do the trick).

Step Two: Add the fixing’s and mix well.

Step Three: Have at it with your corn chips! Feel fantastic about how impressive you are!

Feel free to experiment with different add-ins.  When I’m feeling lazy my guacamole is just avocado and salt but I’ve often added chopped onions and tomatoes into my guacamole to add some more flavours.

Leave a Reply

