Breakfast · Desserts · Recipes

Thai Coconut Sticky Rice with Mango

img_0703This recipe is adapted from the traditional (?) (or popular I guess you could say) thai coconut sticky rice you can order for dessert at Thai restaurants. My mom also made these a few times for me as a child so it must also have some Chinese influence. I don’t ever remember her topping it with mango though so that must be a Thai thing. I like to make it less sweet for breakfast or as not as sweet dessert (my bf is not huge into sweets but he loves this)  but otherwise you can double or triple the sugar to make it sweeter for the classic Thai restaurant dessert taste.

  • 1.5 cups glutinous rice
  • 2.25 cups water
  • 1 can full fat coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Combine the rice and water and let soak for a few hours or overnight (to get it nice and soft). Once soaked, cook it in the rice cooker (it will cook faster than usual white rice since it’s soaked) and then once it’s cooked, let it steam in the heat for 10 more minutes. I usually set a timer for 20 mins to come back and check that it’s cooked, so I can know how long it sits and steams on the warmer setting.

While your cooked rice sits and steams for the extra 10 minutes, combine the coconut milk, sugar and salt in a small pot and heat over medium heat. Heat and stir it until all the coconut milk is combined (no lumps) and it bubbles. It’s not a science, just makes sure it’s a homogenous smooth mixture.

Scoop out the rice into a separate bowl, then pour over half the coconut mixture and stir. Be careful not to crush the rice kernels, use kind of a folding motion like you would do with meringues. Add the rest of the coconut mixture and stir in. it will look like a lot, but the rice will soak it all up.

Note on sugar preferences:

Traditionally, (or so I’m told) Thai recipes use coconut sugar, since that’s what they had around I guess. Thai restaurants on the other hand, use white sugar, to give the rice that nice pearly white appearance. If you don’t have coconut sugar, you can also use brown sugar, which I’m told is the modern equivalent now (since Western sugar is available in Thailand now). Again, don’t quote me on the history and cultural correctness, this just what a Phillipino friend told me. Finally, being Canadian (lolz) my aunt swears by using maple syrup as the sugar. She says it’s AMAZING. Haha I’m sure it would be, I love maple syrup. Maple syrup is quite sweet and a stronger flavour than sugar, so I bet you could sub half the sugar for maple syrup and half brown sugar or other sugar and get a nice maple flavour. Haha now it just sounds like the Asian version of maple brown sugar oatmeal. Maple brown sugar breakfast sticky rice. Anyways, try this one out! I love it and I find it’s a good dish to introduce the sticky rice texture to people. Chewy stuff like mochi and even savoury sticky rice can seem like a bit of an odd texture to people, but I find no one questions this one! Happy cooking 🙂 -Starfish

Leave a Reply

